Speedway Moore Park – Battle of the Twins



Grant Tregoning continued his success on his return home by winning the Best Pairs title with his partner Adam Wilson. Tregoning and Wilson won the final by scoring 6 points to 3 over Craig Blackett and John Ross. Tregoning dropped only one race to Larry Ross through qualifying while Wilson battled hard for the tell tale minor points. This is where most of the interest lay all day. The pair leaders fought for the front positions but it was the third place in all heats that counted. Tregoning won the start in the final with John Ross in second with his partner Blackett in third. Had it stayed that way the final result would have been reversed? Ross checked himself and fell allowing Blackett and Wilson through. Ross remounted and chased like a demon possessed but Wilson was too far ahead to reel in. He in fact pushed Blackett all the way to the flag in the final lap.

The most impressive ride of the day came from Dale Finch when he and his partner Josh O’Dockerty met Larry Ross and Cory Lang in heat three. Ross got the jump but was put under pressure by Finch from the start riding a tight inside line. He found his way under Ross coming out of turn two on the last lap forcing Ross wide. Ross recovered to momentary regain the lead down the back straight before Finch pressured again on the inside line. Ross was forced off line and put the bike down in the loose on the final turn as the veteran was running out of track room. Lang came through to take second with O’Dockerty third giving the Finch/O’Dockerty pairing a 6 to 3 point advantage. The only maximum score of the day was gained by Tregoning and Wilson in heat 9 over J Ross and Blackett netting a 7 to 2 advantage.

Visiting Sidecar combination Derek Ramsay and Tony Hislop from Palmerston North won the Battle of the Twins cup. The NZ no3 combination pulled in three straight wins to qualify easily just having a little bit too much for the competition. Behind them it was close to call. Invercargill’s Kevin Macdonald and Karl Hosie gained 10 points as did Karl Ostomy and Paul Whitcombe. The last place went to Chris Gains and Laurie McMahon who won the repercharge from the hard charging Mark Hanaford and Robbie Gardner who were pushed all the way by Liam Stockman and Blair Lock. The final saw the Ramsay/Hislop combination take the win from a determined Macdonald/Hosie with Gains/McMahon home third. There was some good hard spirited racing from these units. In support, the multi’s identical (almost) outfitted Wilson and Butt combinations were to the fore with Josh Wilson and Jonathon Butt getting the better of dad Pete Wilson and Darren Butt. Third were Scott Lang and Luke Elliot.

Paleti Woods only dropped one race in the 200 class to Invercargill’s Hayden Sims in heat five and went on to win the final. It was hard luck for Sims as he won all the qualifying heats but failed in the final. Second was Shilo Tocher up on a 200 for the first time while Britton Thiam came in third.

Junior 250 riders Jack McCrae and Anthony Knowles put on a fine display of riding. Talented and riders of the future but with the meeting dragging on, five two bike races were overshadowed by the performance and entertainment of the close racing in the ATV support class. Tim George won four of his five starts dropping one race to Alistair McCrae. Greg Lyall, Ian Hammond and Nina McVicar kept the others honest by getting amongst the front runners.